Behold, What Manner of Love!

“Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not.” 1 John 3:1

A few evenings ago, my wife and I watched a movie that really struck a heartcord in me. It made me mediate on what the Lord has done for us.

Let me explain. The movie was a Hollywood adaptation of a real life story. It depicts the unbreakable bond that existed between a brother and his sister. They had grown up in a broken home and had no one to rely on except one another. They were inseparable.

The brother had some traumatic experiences in his life that caused him to get into trouble. He would often have brushes with the law. He was not very well liked and, in fact, he was a troublemaker. I can imagine that many in his small hometown looked upon him with disdain as a worthless man. He was one of those men that no one cared much for. The only one who cared for him it seemed was his sister.

It so happened that a grisly murder of an elderly woman took place in a house not far from this man’s home. Every eye turned to him as the prime suspect in the murder. His own mother even suggested that it was only a matter of time that he killed someone. He was tried and found guilty of the murder and was sentenced to life imprisonment. His life was over. The sentence had been passed and there was no chance for him. No one would come to his rescue. The evidence against him was too overwhelming. His reputation as a troublemaker in the community was enough to convince the jury that he did it. Everyone, it seemed, “knew” that he had murdered this woman. He maintained his innocence but no one believed him. He was guilty in the eyes of every man, woman, and child in that community. Everyone, that is, except his sister.

She would not and did not believe he had committed this murder. She did everything she possibly could to prove his innocence. In fact, she entered law school to become a lawyer in order to see him become a free man once again. In the process she lost her relationship with her mother, her husband left her, and her children soon followed after their father. She expended all her time and energy into seeing her brother set free. She had given up her life, for his. It was this thought that set off an overwhelming sense of the great love that our Heavenly Father has for us.

As I laid there meditating on what this woman had given up, I began to realize that what Jesus Christ gave up in order to free us from the sentence of death upon us far outweighed what did this woman or any human being has ever done. I understood the enormity of what Christ had done.

Our Saviour, who was clothed with such majesty, such glory, who was seated on a heavenly and righteous throne, came down from that throne and gave up everything in order for us to be set free from our sentence of death. I was overwhelmed. Tears began streaming down my face as I cried unto the Lord, “Thank you Lord for loving me. Thank you Lord that you were willing to give up everything to set me free!” I was filled with a profound understanding of what Jesus Christ had done for me. The King of Glory stepped down off of His eternal righteous throne for me. I was lost, found guilty, and sentenced to death because of my sin. The evidence against me was overwhelming. And like the man in the movie, I had no one who would come to my aid. Unlike him however, I was guilty and worthy of the sentence of death. For my sin, I deserved death. And yet the Creator of the Universe, the One and Only God, the only One who could righteously pass just judgment on my life, gave up everything to set me free from my bondages and to erase the sentence placed on me and on every sinner.

What He gave up for you and I is incredible! Think about it for a moment. A king — THE KING OF GLORY — gave up everything to see us set free. What King would give up His Kingdom throne in order that a peasant subject would be set free? What Prime Minister, or President, would abdicate his seat of power as a substitutionary sacrifice for a lowly criminal? Not one of them would! Which one of them would give up the luxuries of their palaces and offices for the life of an unknown man who deserved death. Yet the King of kings, and the Lord of lords willingly volunteered His life in exchange for my lowly life.

As I watched this man come to his freedom in this movie, I began to wonder, ‘She lost so much for his sake. How can he ever repay her for what she did for him?’ Out of love for her brother she sacrificed all she had to see him walk as a free man once again. What could you do for that person who gave up their entire life for yours? Ask yourself what you would do for that person. My only answer is that I would be indebted to them for the rest of my life. Whatever they wanted, whatever they asked, I would do for them. It would be the least that I could do. Paul describes it as ‘your reasonable service.’

Romans 12: 1 “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.”

Consider what He has done for you. Indebtedness of this magnitude would constitute a life of repayment to the one who gave up their life for you. You would owe that man a life-debt. You would have to give up your life as any form of acceptable repayment. In fact, you could say that you would have to become a slave to that person. But God’s love for us goes even further than just giving His life for ours. Once He has freed us, He calls us sons. Behold, what manner of love the Father has bestowed upon us that we should be called the Sons of God. We are no longer slaves to sin, we are freed from the sentence of death, and are now sons in the Kingdom of God.

Behold, what manner of love the Father has bestowed upon us.

 

God Bless, Beloved.

2011 © His Beloved Remnant Ministries

Leave a Reply

